Posted in Book Reviews, Books, Fiction

Book Review: Choosing Xaverique by Karyn Sepulveda

Picture Credits: Karyn Sepulveda (Because no physical copy! Sigh.)

Synopsis

Reality and fantasy collide when Noah and Gabby meet. Both have secrets: they are not human, cannot be killed and are falling in love with each other.

Gabby Valis is a regular fifteen year old; her biggest worries in life are friends, boys and her annoying brother Zac. But her life is shattered the day she finds out she is not human. She had no idea she belonged to a secret species which has evolved from humans; ‘Xaveriques’. After being hit by a car, her body is forced to heal itself, and Gabby’s powers are unleashed…

‘I died this morning. At exactly 8.17 am my heart stopped beating and I lay cold and still in the street. At 8.24 am my heart resumed beating, I jumped up from the dusty pavement and ran home. Confused? Well, that makes two of us.’

Review

Cover: The cover of the book is relatable to the story. Although it gives more of a vampire-ish feeling, but still it leads to a supernatural phenomenon in the book. With blood spatter and a girl crying, you cannot help but feel it’s creepy chills.

Storyline: This book follows a girl named Gabby, who too soon realizes that she is not a human. She belongs to a special kind of superhumans named ‘Xaverique’ and she is not to happy by being one. Now, this whole concept for me was very unique. I haven’t read anything of this sort so far and I was instantly drawn to the whole thing. The writing style is very simple yet engaging. This is definitely one of those books that you cannot put down. And even if you manage to do so, you’ll keep thinking about it the whole time.

There were some lovely things about this book that I highly appreciated:

  • The fast paced writing. Things move pretty fast and you’ll keep wondering what’s next.
  • The character development. You can actually see a character evolving and this can be seen throughout the book.
  • Gabby and Noah’s relationship. Something that you don not expect.
  • And the cliffhanger. This has made the wait for the next book in the series more difficult! 😦

At some places, the spelling mistakes irked me a bit but overall, I highly recommend this book to all fantasy/sci-fi/supernatural lovers! ♥

Characters: I loved the characters. I loved Gabby’s kindness, Noah’s decisions and Zlanythe’s evil. He kind of resembled a lot to Voldemort (in my imagination!) and his crew was equally evil. I feel like if I say any more about any of the characters, I might give away a spoiler. So I’ll keep it short this time! I really want all of you to explore this world by yourself.

Rating: I would happily give this book 4.5 stars out of 5. And tbh I can’t possibly wait for the next book in the series. I want it now! 😦

I died this morning. At exactly 8.17 am my heart stopped beating and I lay cold and still in the street. At 8.24 am my heart resumed beating, and I jumped up from the dusty pavement and ran home. Confused? Well, that makes two of us.

Blog Tour Organized by:
Hosts were provided with a copy of the book for review purposes in exchange for their honest reviews and opinions.
Leave a Reply

