Posted in Book Reviews, Books, Fiction

Book Review: Daughter of the Sun by Zoe Kalo

Disclaimer: Pretty long rant!

Synopsis ♥

Cult of the Cat Series Synopsis

According to ancient Egyptian prophecy, three feline goddesses—Bastet, Sekhmet, and Mafdet—would one day be reborn as triplets during a solar eclipse.

But someone—or something—separated them at birth. Because if ever they were reunited, they would unleash a blistering power that could destroy the world.

In an adventure where the past confronts the present, and blood, betrayal and secrets abound, the triplets face each other for the first time. And discover they’re the only force able to stop the evil god Apophis from enslaving humanity.

Book Synopsis

Sixteen-year-old Trinity was born during a solar eclipse and left at the doorsteps of a convent along with a torn piece of papyrus covered with ancient symbols. Raised by nuns in the English countryside, she leads a quiet life until she’s whisked away to the Island of Cats and a grandmother she never knew.

But before they can get to know each other, her grandmother dies. All that Trinity has left is a mysterious eye-shaped ring. And a thousand grieving cats. As Trinity tries to solve the enigma of the torn papyrus, she discovers a world of bloody sacrifices and evil curses, and a prophecy that points to her and her new feline abilities.

Unwilling to believe that any of the Egyptian gods could still be alive, Trinity turns to eighteen-year-old Seth and is instantly pulled into a vortex of sensations that forces her to confront her true self—and a horrifying destiny.

Review

Cover: What do you think? I think it’s different. Not the regular book covers that you will find these days. I believe that it stands out, just like the story does. So let’s take a moment to appreciate the uniqueness of this notable book cover!

Also, I do not own a physical copy of the book otherwise I would have posted a lovely picture for this lovely book! (One of the reasons why I love physical copies.)

Storyline: THIS IS WHAT I WAS WAITING FOR! First of all, let me say that I absolutely LOVED♥ this book. Not just the plot, but the characters, the flow and every darn thing about it! If this seems like a rant to you, then it absolutely is. I just cannot stop drooling over it and I have no idea how I am going to wait for the next book in the series to come out!

Finding my way back to the storyline, I must say that it is one of those stories that will keep you hooked from the very beginning. A total page turner. The moment you meet Trinity, the protagonist, you know that there is something odd with her life. Her perspective of viewing her surroundings is totally unusual. The story follows her life from the convent to that on the mysterious cat island, her doubts, her transformation. Although the whole story is based on her life, I loved how the author did not miss out any details of any other character in the book. It was great to see how their lives were entwined with that of the others. The book was fairly paced yet detailed, which was necessary so as the reader will get time to acknowledge the other characters in the book who are equally important as the protagonist.

The plot is based on ancient Egyptian mythology. And to be honest, I never thought I could enjoy mythology as much as I did. It kind of took a fantasy turn every now and then, which again, I highly appreciate. Also, if you are a cat person (I prefer dogs more though!), you should positively check this book out.

My excitement for this book can be estimated by the fact that as soon as I came to know about the novella Korian and Lucy which is the Cult of the Cat Short Story, I immediately bought it. I just don’t wish to let go of this world so soon. 😦

Characters: I loved the character development of each and every character of this book. Allow me to introduce you to each one of them:

Trinity, the protagonist. Strong, fierce, cat lover. Her character was strong and also had its own shortcomings. This made her character more realistic. The portrayal of her emotions was expressed brilliantly.

Seth, my next fictional boyfriend♥. Sweet and sarcastic at the same time. His role was short though. I wanted to see more of him. His character also left a lot of questions in my mind.

Ara, Trinity’s cousin. Her character was complex. She was sweet and supportive of Trinity yet at some places I felt her dislike for Trinity. She had an equally important role to play as the main character.

Dr. Nassiri, the antagonist of the story. I loved her character too. She was the villain in the story, which is pretty obvious to all the readers. Malice dripped from her character. All I can say is that she is an equally strong antagonist for the protagonist.

Brianna, oh I can I forget her. No matter how small her role in the book was, you will remember her. Read the book and you’ll know why.

Rating: ALL THE STARS IN THE WORLD. Love and only love for this piece of magic.

Beautifully soft music played – a flute? – and a pleasant smell permeated the air. Mint? Mingled with something else, maybe cinnamon. I couldn’t really tell, but I loved it.

I would HIGHLY recommend it to all of you.

Buy from Amazon IN: Daughter of the Sun (Cult of the Cat Book 1)

The second book in the series comes out in October 2016 and I can’t wait for it!

This Review is a part of the Blogger Outreach Program by b00k r3vi3w Tours
2 thoughts on “Book Review: Daughter of the Sun by Zoe Kalo

Leave a Reply

