Posted in Book Reviews, Fiction

Book Review: My Last Love Story by Falguni Kothari

Synopsis

Perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes’s, Me Before You, My Last Love Story is a heartbreaking and poignant tale about the complexities of trauma and whether love can right a wrong.

***
I, Simeen Desai, am tired of making lemonade with the lemons life has handed me.

Love is meant to heal wounds.
Love was meant to make my world sparkle and spin.
Love has ripped my life apart and shattered my soul.

I love my husband, and he loves me.
But Nirvaan is dying.
I love my husband. I want to make him happy.
But he is asking for the impossible.

I don’t want a baby.
I don’t want to make nice with Zayaan.
I don’t want another chance at another love story.

***WARNING***
Weepers, keep tissues handy.

Review

Genre: Literary Romance

Cover: I never judge a book by its cover, and I believe no one should. But it does play an important role in preparing ourselves for the new world, doesn’t it? Well, a good book will remain good irrespective of its cover, but if the cover is good, it adds that little extra something to the book.

Speaking of which, that little extra something missed in this particular book. The cover was okay-ish with not much oomph factor. It could have been way better though.

Storyline: The plot was slow in the beginning and in the middle, but was fast paced towards the end, almost after half the book. This book was somewhere in the middle for me. Sometimes, the narration and the writing were brilliant, rest of the book, not so much. Also, this book was jargon-ish at times. It was difficult for me to read a few pages in one go and I had to read them again to fully get what the author was trying to say. It could have been a little simpler at some places.

Here is my take on the plot:

I loved how the events unfolded which was in the later half of the book.

But I didn’t pretty much appreciate how the author was leaving bits of her past in the first half. The writing just couldn’t create that ‘mystery’ effect for me, and that left me not much interested as to what would have happened in her past.

The best part of the book was how bluntly and openly the author portrayed, or to say , ‘nakedly served’ the thoughts of the protagonist, Simeen, out to the readers. I loved how she didn’t give a ratsass about the society and how none of her relatives clouded her judgement of herself. She loved and lusted both the male protagonists, Nirvaan and Zayaan, and she showed it without bothering about anyone.

The thing I disliked was Simeen’s description of her past. It was dark and horrible but the description was emotionless. I just could not feel her being haunted by her ghosts of the past, which she definitely was. My connection with the book broke at that point.

Characters: I will appreciate the character development in this book. But all the characters were described from the point of view of Simeen. So judging by that, I developed my own perspective of the characters.

  • I loved Simeen’s character. She was one hell of a badass as well as a practical woman. She knew what she was doing and on what her actions were based on. Also, being a housewife, she exactly knew how she can keep her family and Nirvaan’s relationship with Zayaan peaceful, even though she was tormented by her past every now and then.
  • Nirvaan, was my favourite of the three. He was funny, realistic and practical at the same time. I, as a reader, connected to him the most. Even though he was dying, there was not a moment where he threw tantrums about it. He knew how to live his life to the fullest and he was doing exactly the same.
  • Zayaan was my least favourite. He was hot and knowledgeable and a great friend at the same time. But he was dumb. Dumb enough to stay quiet all this while. Dumb enough to let the love of his life slip away. Dumb enough to be so dumb that he never actually understood Simeen. I just cannot understand how on earth does he deserve to be still loved by someone?

All in all, this love triangle was one of a kind. Truly.

Rating: This book was on and off for me. I would give it 3 stars.

“Love is a dish best served naked.”

Like the review?

Buy from Amazon: My Last Love Story

 

3 thoughts on “Book Review: My Last Love Story by Falguni Kothari

Leave a Reply

